A New Year’s Resolution: My Year of Writing


March 2012. That is when, on a whim, I started this blog. I was taking a drama studies class and had finished learning about Oscar Wilde – hence its name. 2012 had a few posts, then more and more towards the end of the year. 2013 was by far my biggest year – in terms of how many shows I went to and how many reviews I wrote. 2014 was off and on, 2015 even more so, mainly because off school and then work. Thus, this blog has fallen by the wayside.

I generally don’t take New Years’ resolutions all that seriously because I didn’t care all that much. However, as I am currently employed in a restaurant where positivity flows like beer and creativity runs rampant, I decided to actually do something for once. Though who knows if I can actually maintain it.

This blog started as a way for me to review live music shows in Vancouver. In 2013, I was doing an average of three shows a week so it seemed appropriate. Later on, as I went to less shows, I expanded this to become a general arts blog – from music to theatre to literature. Then last year I decided to write a couple of baseball articles and I seemed to not only get a whole new audience but immense positive feedback. Because my New Years’ resolution is to write a little bit each day – whether it be on this blog or working on a variety of other projects – screenplays, short stories, novels, etc. – I’ve made the decision to blow this blog wide open. I’m not going to limit myself to artistic endeavours and show recaps. While I still feel that will be my bread and butter, I want to start writing about politics, more baseball, and fusing many of loves together.

For years, writing has been the one outlet that has been completely mine. It’s personal, it’s opinionated, and it’s perhaps the only way I feel comfortable channelling thoughts, emotions or whatever happens to be on my mind.

So here’s to 2016: my year of creativity!

Leave a Reply

